Press Release


 ISACA’s CSX Practitioner Wins Best Professional Certification Program Award from SC Magazine 

New, performance-based cybersecurity certification lauded in 2016 SC Magazine Awards

Rolling Meadows, IL, USA (2 March 2016)—Just six months after its launch, an innovative cybersecurity certification from global IT association ISACA was recognized as the top professional certification program by the 2016 SC Magazine Awards.

ISACA’s CSXP certification—launched in 2015—was named the Best Professional Certification Program award at the SC Awards Gala on Tuesday during the RSA Conference. CSXP is the first vendor-neutral, performance-based certification for cybersecurity professionals. The exam measures cybersecurity proficiency in a virtual lab environment using real-world scenarios. CSXP candidates must demonstrate the ability to be a first-responder to cyber incidents.

“Businesses today are increasingly in the firing line of big cyber threats,” said Illena Armstrong, VP, editorial, SC Magazine. “One of the most important keys to fighting these threats is the ongoing training and education that winners of the Professional Award pride themselves on. ISACA’s CSX Practitioner certification is helping set a new standard of excellence in the IT security industry.”

The CSXP certification indicates firewall, patching and anti-virus experience, as well as the ability to implement common security controls and perform vulnerability scans and analysis. CSXP was developed by a working group of cybersecurity experts and went through a rigorous review by more than 100 experts from around the world.

ISACA created Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX) to address the global need for skilled cybersecurity professionals. In ISACA’s 2016 Cybersecurity Snapshot survey, nearly 8 in 10 respondents indicated they would prefer to hire a candidate who holds a performance-based certification.

Five expert-led Boot Camps will be offered this year to help participants gain the hands-on skills needed to attain CSXP certification.

In addition to CSXP, ISACA’s CISA and CISM certifications were among the awards competition’s five finalists for Best Professional Certification Program.


About the SC Awards

The SC Awards – judged by dozens of industry leaders – celebrate difference-makers and innovators in the field of cybersecurity. The individuals, programs and teams selected as winners in the Professional Award categories are run through a rigorous judging process that includes testimonials, industry assessments and additional research. Winners in the Professional Award categories were hand-picked by a panel of judges for their outstanding service, qualifications and advancements to the cybersecurity industry.



ISACA ( helps global professionals lead, adapt and assure trust in an evolving digital world by offering innovative and world-class knowledge, standards, networking, credentialing and career development. Established in 1969, ISACA is a global nonprofit association of 140,000 professionals in 180 countries. ISACA also offers the Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX), a holistic cybersecurity resource, and COBIT, a business framework to govern enterprise technology.



Kristen Kessinger, +1.847.660.5512,
Joanne Duffer, +1.847.660.5564,
Jay Schwab, +1.847.660.5693