Press Release


 ISACA’s CISM Certification Named 2018’s Best Professional Certification Program by SC Media 

Milestone marks third straight year an ISACA certification merits top honor

Rolling Meadows, IL, USA (19 April 2018) — As the emphasis on information security and its prioritization within the modern enterprise grows, ISACA’s Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) credential was recognized by SC Media this week as the Best Professional Certification Program of 2018.

ISACA’s newly released 2018 State of Cybersecurity research shows that information security and cybersecurity professionals consider an inability to understand business needs to be the top gap in today’s security professionals. The CISM credential provides certification-holders with that essential context.

The CISM designation recognizes individuals who manage, design and oversee an enterprise’s information security program. The credential has been earned by more than 38,000 professionals worldwide since it was established in 2002.

“We have seen interest in our CISM certification accelerate in recent years as practitioners and their enterprises recognize that a sound information security program is a foundational requirement for success in the digital economy,” said Kim Cohen, director of ISACA’s certification program. “Professionals who are able to demonstrate their understanding of the connection between effectively managing information security and the achievement of enterprise goals are highly sought-after in today’s technology workforce.”

Last month, CISM was listed among the top-paying IT certifications for 2018 by Global Knowledge, yielding an average US salary of $108,043. ISACA’s Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) credential was No. 1 on that list.

This marks the third consecutive year an ISACA certification was named by SC Media as the Best Professional Certification Program. The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) credential, now in its 40th year as the globally accepted gold standard for IS audit, control and assurance professionals, took top honors in 2017. The CSX Practitioner (CSXP) certification, which was a finalist again this year, was named the leading certification program in 2016. The performance-based CSXP credential requires candidates to demonstrate technical cybersecurity skills in a live, virtual environment.

For more information about ISACA certifications, including testing windows and locations for 2018, visit

About the SC Awards

The SC Awards are recognized throughout the cybersecurity industry and are the crowning achievement for IT security professionals and products. Each year, hundreds of applications are reviewed and narrowed down to a select group of finalists that represent the best solutions and services and the professionals working around the clock to protect today’s businesses from an ever-changing landscape of security threats. For more information and a detailed list of categories, finalists and winners, please visit


Nearing its 50th year, ISACA ( is a global association helping individuals and enterprises achieve the positive potential of technology. Today’s world is powered by technology, and ISACA equips professionals with the knowledge, credentials, education and community to advance their careers and transform their organizations. ISACA leverages the expertise of its 450,000 engaged professionals in information and cybersecurity, governance, assurance, risk and innovation, as well as its enterprise performance subsidiary, CMMI Institute, to help advance innovation through technology. ISACA has a presence in more than 188 countries, including 217 chapters worldwide and offices in both the United States and China.


Press Contacts:

Michelle Micor, +1.847.385.7217,
Kristen Kessinger, +1.847.660.5512,