U.S. DoD Information 


The U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) 8570.01-M "Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program" manual names ISACA’s CISA and CISM certifications among those approved for DoD information assurance (IA) professionals.

DoD Directive

The directive requires up to 80,000 professionals to earn one of 13 certifications (including ISACA’s Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) and Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), offered by five organizations.

ISACA Exam Candidate Information Guide for 2015 Exams

The ISACA Exam Candidate Information Guide provides information about exam registration, dates and deadlines for the 2015 exam administrations, as well as exam day rules. We recommend that candidates read through this document to familiarize themselves with this exam information.
Learn More >>

download now



DoD Information:

CISA and CISM Self-Assessments
ISACA has prepared the CISA and CISM self-assessments to help exam candidates to assess their knowledge of job practice areas and determine where they may have strengths and weaknesses. These self-assessments are not substitutes for the actual exams, nor do results guarantee or indicate future individual success. Rather, they are tools to help prepare for the exams.

More about CISA Self-Assessments >>

More about CISM Self-Assessments >>


Special Exam Administration Program
ISACA has enacted a program for the Department of Defense that allows for special exam administrations for CISA and CISM certification candidates. To learn more about this program including the requirements, please contact Michele Luckman at mluckman@isaca.org or +1.847.660.5574.

If you are a DoD employee and your component is part of the DoD Voucher Program, examine this information for DoD Voucher Program Participants.

  Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  ISACA DoD Summary Information

  CISA and CISM DoD Overview