Wasserman Award Recipients 


Joseph J. Wasserman Award 

The Joseph J. Wasserman Award is presented by the ISACA New York Metropolitan Chapter at its Annual Gala/Wasserman Award Dinner, typically held in NYC during June or July.  This award has been bestowed annually since the Chapter’s inception in 1978, and recognizes Outstanding Achievement and Contribution to the Information Systems Audit, Control, Security, Risk Management, and/or Governance professions (the “Community”). 

Each year, all Chapter members are invited to nominate candidates for the Wasserman Award. The nomination must include a short bio of the proposed candidate and specific examples of achievements, contributions, and essential characteristics as outlined below.

The award candidates must have made a significant contribution and be currently active in the Community.  Essential characteristics include, but are not limited to honesty, integrity, humility, non-self-promoting, selfless dedication to enriching the Community, and motivation for the best interests of the ISACA membership.

Examples of outstanding achievement and contribution are: working as a team leader across verticals to solve significant persistent issues in audit, control, information security, risk management, and governance; building an audit or cyber security tool or process that addresses a major industry gap; or contributing to innovative research on topics of importance to the Community. The achievements or contributions would be considered gold standards for reference in Community.

The achievements, contributions, and characteristics of each nominated candidate are carefully evaluated by the Chapter’s Wasserman Committee. This Committee is appointed annually by the Chapter Board of Directors, and may include current and former Board Directors, past Chapter presidents, and past Wasserman Award recipients.  The Committee conducts a rigorous impartial voting process to identify the best-qualified candidates, who are then recommended to the Chapter Board of Directors.  The Board of Directors considers the recommendations of the Wasserman Committee and votes to confirm the recipient of the Wasserman Award. 


Award Recipients


Joseph J. Wasserman Award Recipients
2018 Theresa Grafenstine
2017 Robert Roussey
2016 Ron Ross
2015 Charles Blauner
2014 George Hertzberg
2013 Robert Stroud
2012 Everett Johnson
2011 Miklos Vasarhelyi
2010 Robert A. Clyde
2009 Deepak Sarup
2008 Paul Williams
2007 Marios Damianides
2006 Eugene Spafford
2005 Erik Guldentops
2004 S. Rao Vallabhaneni
2003 Peter Wild
2002 Gordon E. Smith
2001 Thomas A. Dietz
2000 Emil G. D'Angelo
1999 Kathleen O'Hare
1998 Belden Menkus
1997 Ira R. Weiss
1996 Michael Donahue
1995 Robert G. Parker
1994 Stanley Stash Jarocki
1993 Lily Shue
1992 Keagle Davis
1991 John Lainhart
1990 Martin King
1989 William Murray
1988 Steven Ross
1987 Michael Cangemi
1986 Richard Guiltinan
1985 Stanley Halper
1984 Michael Sobol
1983 William Perry
1982 Harold Weiss
1981 John Cullinane
1980 Jerry Fitzgerald
1979 Thomas Fitzgerald
1978 Donald Adams

About Joseph J. Wasserman (1932 - 1978) 

Joe Wasserman was born in New Haven, Connecticut on May 21, 1932, a depression-born Connecticut Yankee.  Upon completion of US Navy active duty in 1956, Joe was employed as an internal auditor with the Southern New England Bell Telephone Company in New Haven.  There he established the company's first IS Audit function and developed such concepts as the integrated test facility, the tagging of data and the use of audit software.

By 1965, Joe had advance to Audit Manager at AT&T's New York Headquarters, having responsibility for the audit of Bell Systems in the US and Canada.  In 1967, Joe moved to AT&T's Bell labs as manager of Audit R&D.  In 1969, together with Dick Hirschfield, he founded Computer Audit Systems, Inc. (CAS).  They developed the Computer Audit Retrieval System (CARS) and produced seminars in computer auditing including applications of the CARS software.  At the time, the only publicized computer audit software was Auditape available from Haskins and Sells.  Both systems generated COBOL programs on IBM mainframes using punched card control parameters.

Joe had placed CARS in over 400 computer centers and his marketing had reached the boardrooms of the Fortune 1000 and the partners of the largest public accounting firms.  His professional competence and energy earned him the respect and friendship of many.  Joe continued in a consulting capacity, including serving as an expert in the Equity Funding case until his untimely death in 1978.

Steve Ross