Archived Webinar: Managing the Insider Threat—Why Visibility Is Critical 

 

Thursday, 2 May 2019
8 am (EDT) / 7 am (CDT) / 5 am (PDT) / 12:00 (UTC)
60 minutes
1 CPE (Members only)




Only with full visibility into employee or third-party activity across a company network can even the earliest indicators of an insider threat be detected. By monitoring both user and file activity, security and compliance professionals can be alerted to risky, out-of-policy activities and any unexplained changes in user behavior in real-time; successfully stopping and investigating any activity before it becomes a full-blown breach.

Research from The Ponemon Institute shows that Financial Services organizations face the highest penalty costs of any other industry ($12.05 million annually) when they experience an insider-led incident, though they are closely followed by the Energy & Utilities and Retail sector. This cost alone is a very concrete reason to address what otherwise might seem to be an invisible problem.

In this session, ObserveIT will discuss:

  • The key components of full visibility: user activity, data activity, and behavior analytics
  • Your organization’s risk exposure to the different types of insider threat, with sector/industry focus
  • Incorporating insider threat management best practices into your security and governance strategies.

Chris BushChris Bush
Head of Security
ObserveIT

Chris is a dedicated and passionate security professional with more than 20 years of IT security industry experience. Chris is responsible for ObserveIT’s information and security strategy.

His prior experience includes serving as VP of Security Service at Cybereason where he built and operated a Managed Detection and Response service. In his prior roles Chris spent 13 years at Novartis Pharmaceuticals where he served as Head of Security and was responsible for information security, risk and security operations. During his tenure at Novartis, he spent several years managing internal investigations within the Ethics and Compliance division, held the position of Director of a global Detection and Response team, and worked within the Legal department as an Associate Director of e-Discovery.

Chris has also held senior technology positions at Ricoh Corporation. Chris holds a B.A. Degree in Forensic Psychology from John Jay College of Criminal Justice.